Getting ready for Christmas…

Merry Christmas!!P1015982

This past week in preparation for the Christmas season, I’ve had a chance to invite some girls over to make cookies. I didn’t find a lot of cookie decorating supplies or food coloring here, so I improvised with what I found in the stores. They didn’t turn out too bad!

selfiesWe made my family’s traditional Lemon Pie Bars as well as some sugar cookies with sprinkles and frosting. What a fun night of just hanging out with these two girls, “F” and “D”. These are the girls that live just down the street that I’ve asked you to pray for in the past.

I let “D” take the pictures this time. I had to laugh when I got back my camera and found about 100 selfies from “D,” but she did manage to capture some shots of some actual baking. Ha ha ha. 🙂 We definitely have fun.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On Thursday night, I was invited for dinner at my friend “A’s” house and we made salt dough ornaments and painted them. We made a big mess, but it was a fun night of creativity and fun helping her make some decorations for her house. “A” works at the school and attends our Sunday fellowship here in M!trov!ca.

Last night (Sunday) I once again had another group of girls over to my house to bake. There are a group of 5 or 6 girls that I’ve met through Nad!ne who I’ve come to form friendships with during my time here. This time we made some Monster Cookies. (Don’t worry, I don’t keep all the cookies. The girls eat some while at my house, and then I send them home with the girls to their families along with the recipes so they can make them themselves.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI have to confess I was worried about spending the Christmas season in a Musl!m country, but it’s actually managed to feel Christmas-y! Some of the chain stores even have Christmas decorations and Christmas trees. However, I do find it odd that they have Christmas decorations because they definitely don’t celebrate Christmas here. New Year’s is their big holiday. I’ve been told there will be lots of fireworks on New Years. Now, that’s definitely something to stay up late for. Especially because there will be no sleeping if there are that many fireworks going off all around town.

Kelly, our regional administrator has asked me to spend some time with Beth, our Regional Administrative Assistant who lives in Budapest, so I will be heading there on Thursday through next Tuesday. I will be doing some computer training with her as well as checking out what she does for our region and spending time with some other members of the team in Budapest. I had a chance to meet the whole team at our regional conference in October and am excited to see them again. Not to mention Budapest is a great city to spend some time in right before Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

